Avocado & Egg Quesadilla

One time on the subway I met a man who loved Avocados. “You can do anything you’d like with em. “You can cook ’em, you can squash ’em, you can put ’em on a sub, or you can eat Avocado copy
it by it self. It’s nature’s natural butter. It’s good on everything,” he took his sunglasses off and winked at me. He thought I was looking at his bag of avocados.  Sitting next to him, I nodded in polite agreement trying hard to give the allotted amount of eye contact that is expected from a total stranger.

Meanwhile, I had never tasted an avocado in my life. Guacamole was green and gooey and something I had no interest in trying in my picky unadventurous days. For a few days I worked at this small cafe in the village called Everything Tea or something hip like that. It was the first time I saw an avocado peeled and delicately cut. While alone with the produce and the mounds of freshly cut avocado, I snuck a piece and felt that smooth gooey goodness. I knew what that crazy avocado man meant.

I am not ashamed to admit that prior to this meal, I watched a YouTube video on how to cut an avocado, because although I enjoy them I have never cooked with them until now.

This meal didn’t take much time to cook up, as you read this blog you’ll notice I am in love with eggs and their compliments to any meal, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They literally go with anything. So here is my low calorie fun lunch.

AVOCADO & EGG QUESADILLA

INGREDIENTS:

2 Whole Wheat TortillaGuac & Egg Quesadilla copy

1 Avocado

1 Tomato

1/2 Red Onion

1/8 Green Onion

2 Garlic Cloves

2 Tbsp Sour Crean

1 oz Monterey Jack Cheese

DIRECTIONS:

Pre-Heat Oven to 375 Degrees. In a bowl mix together avocado and sour cream. Gently stir in tomato, onions, and garlic. Spread over two tortillas and sprinkle cheese over each one, set aside. Fry eggs and place both on one tortilla. Flip the other on top. Bake for about 5-10 minutes. (yes, with the egg!) Cut it in half and share with a friend! Serve immediately.

Total Prep Time: 25-20 Minutes

Yields: 2 Servings

Calorie Count: 515 Per Serving

Leave a Reply

