Spinach Stuffed Shells With Baked Zucchini Stix

Easter Sunday was bad. I went in fully prepared to be good and stick to my new healthy lifestyle. But as soon as I walked into my father’s house he had a tray of eggs waiting to be peeled. (Like I’m 6 again)

“Here, you make the deviled eggs” he says. Perfect. My opportunity to use sour cream or Greek yogurt instead of the whopping amounts of mayo my father prefers. This is just simply unacceptable. So I scoop a humble amount of Hellman’s full fat mayo into the bowl of yolks. “That looks awfully dry girl…” My dad is eyeing my reluctance. That is when my “can’t beat ’em” attitude began on Easter.

Thinking back optimistically, I didn’t eat half has much as I probably did last Easter. Only a few peanut M&Ms were popped into my mouth. Whereas last Easter was probably filled with solid chocolate bunnies and too many Reese’s eggs. My digestive system cringes at that thought now.

As our second family weigh-in approaches (and my slip up on Easter cannot be ignored…) I need to start stepping up my A-Game. Cooking is just completely therapeutic for me. Today was a day filled with ups and downs and mess ups. Cooking this meal turned that all around for me.

stuffed shells with baked zucchini sticks copySPINACH STUFFED SHELLS with BAKED ZUCCHINI STIX

INGREDIENTS: (Stuffed Shells)

1/2 Box Large Shells

1 cup Pasta Sauce (from a can…I know, I know).

1/2 Onion

2 Garlic Cloves

6 oz Baby Spinach

2 tsp Olive Oil

1 Egg

1 cup Low-Fat Ricotta

1/4 cup Skim Milk

 

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook shells in boiling water as per instructions on the box. While they are boiling, in a medium sauce pan sauté onion and garlic with 1 tsp of Olive Oil. Let that cook up for about 5 minutes or until the onions are golden brown. Add 1 cup of pasta sauce. Simmer while shells cook. Add garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste. (I usually run cold water over the pasta as soon as I strain it so they don’t stick together).

Saute up some spinach with garlic. (Takes literally 2 minutes).

While the shells are cooling you can make the cheesey goodness that goes inside of them. Mix ricotta, egg, and milk together. Add Spinach and stir, stir, stir!

Coat a thin layer of sauce on the bottom of a baking pan, stuff shells, and place them on the pan. Drizzle the rest of the sauce over them. Set aside, because now…it’s the Zucchini Stix!

zucchini

INGREDIENTS: (Zucchini Stix)

1 whole Zuchinni

2 Eggs

1/8 cup of Skim Milk

1/2 cup Italian Style Bread Crumbs

DIRECTIONS:

Cut zucchini into sticks. Beat together 2 eggs and milk. Let the zucchini soak up the eggs for about 2-3 minutes. Dip in bread crumbs and then onto a baking tray.

I put the Stuffed Shells and the Sticks side by side and cooked for 30 minutes.

Total Prep Time: 1 Hour 15 Minutes

Serving Size: 4 Stuffed Shells & 4 Zucchini Stix

Aprox. Calorie Count of Meal: 425 Calories! (woah!)

This was a bit longer than the previous meals I’ve posted, but absolutely worth it! I got the ideas from Pinterest, but did not replicate any recipe! This is my own. 😀 Baking the zucchini was a delicious alternative to frying it in tons and tons of fatty oils.

Peace, Love, and Food!

-Min

and p.s. What are your thoughts on this new bill that allows companies ambiguity on whether or not their food is genetically engineered?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Carleigh says:

    This looks absolutely delicious! I love spinach. And as far as Easter goes, it is totally ok to have a slip up, as long as the next day you get right back too it. You handled it exactly the way you should have. I always have at least one cheat day a week. It is not anything to stress over. Just accept it for what it was and keep going! Not to mention treating yourself every now and then is part of a healthy lifestyle!

    1. Min Morgan says:

      You’re absolutely right! I’m more active and positive than I have been in a long time and indulging on Easter isn’t so bad. What else are holidays for?? The spinach was so good in the shells. Usually it’s chopped up really fine and you can barely taste it. I like those big ‘ole spinach leaves mixed in. 🙂

  2. Big Kevin says:

    It smelt really really good

  3. Big Kevin says:

    I’m happy our kitchen happens to be the test kitchen

  4. Barbara Krupnick says:

    I think every company should have to reveal whether or not their food is genetically engineered so we can choose whether we want to eat it or not. NOT, for me.

Leave a Reply

