Baked Ham Cuppie with Roasted Cauliflower

I saw a quote the other day, “Life is a dollar and you can only spend it one way.” I think I saw it on twitter or some other irrelevant social network. The opportunities in life are overwhelming. If I had a nickel for every elder who has said “in my day, you didn’t have this sort of opportunity. Embrace it.” I’m set on embracing, I’m excited about embracing, but the possibilities of how you spend your one dollar are endless and each decision is another two cents you spend along the way. Thankfully, while the dilemma of an uncertain future dangles over my head, cooking always seems to ease any anxiety. (Who needs anti-depressants anyway?!)

I’ve been cooking non stop this week; experimenting. Because I had a few avocados left over from my Quesadilla, I decided to stuff them with mushrooms the other night and the combination of tastes repulsed me. Failed recipe on my part that night, so I decided to not post. (Stuffed mushroom with avocado, onion, with tomato slices and Monterey Jack cheese drizzled over, sounds good right?! Wrong).

Tonight, Sunday, I made a few new recipes (with a new favorite added in). It was a low-calorie, high exercise, day off!

BAKED HAM CUPPIES with ROASTED CAULIFLOWER

 

Baked Hame Cuppie with Roasted Cauliflower copy

INGREDIENTS (Ham Cuppies)

2 pieces thin sliced Deli Ham

2 Eggs

Some S&P for taste

1/2 slice American Cheese

DIRECTIONS:

I’ve coined the name Ham Cuppies, I don’t know what else to call them. My found this recipe in some book stuffed away at my Grandmother’s house. Because a few people in my family are trying the ketosis method of weight loss, I thought this would be appropriate.

Anyway, onto the directions:

Preheat your oven to 375 Degrees. Get a muffin tray ready. Put Ham in the little cups. Crack eggs into the ham cut. Cook for about 10-15 minutes. (depending how you want your eggs) then put a quarter slice of cheese over them, salt and pepper to taste. And I always love to add scallions to mostly anything because they give it that pop of color and a nice little kick in your meal too!

YIELDS: 2 servings

APPROX. CALORIE COUNT per serving: 120

INGREDIENTS (Roasted Cauliflower)

1 head of Cauliflower

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

2 cloves of Garlic

1/2 Sweet Onion

1/8 cup of water.

1/4 cup of Mozzarella (or whatever cheese ya like!)

S&P to taste.

DIRECTIONS:

Your oven should already be preheated to 375. (If you’re doing this combo, of course). Cut cauliflower into bigger florets. Mix olive oil, cauliflower, onion, and garlic in a bowl. Place on a baking tray and bake for 15-20 minutes. When that time is up, drizzle 1/8 water over cauliflower to moisten more. Bake for another 5 minutes. Then sprinkle cheese over the cauliflower and serve immediately! It’s super tasty and super low in calories.

YIELDS: 6 servings

APPROX CALORIE COUNT per serving: 50 calories!! :O

The other side you see in the picture is baked zucchini sticks because I loved them and had a zucchini that needed eating, I made some more but this time without the panko breading. (Which, I can’t decide what I like more…does anyone know of a good bread0crumb recipe or a brand that doesn’t have such bland tasting bread crumbs?!)

Leave a Reply

