Whole30: Day 4

According to the Whole30 official timeline, day 4 is supposed to be the “Kill All of the Things” phase. I thought, no way – I’m not going to go through that because I had an anger fit on Tuesday. Turns out, I lost an SD card somewhere in my office and a spiral of f!@#$s have come out of my mouth. Kill All of the Things part 1.

My job is more or less creative consultant at my job. Need something designed? I’m the designer, need photos taken for staff photos, I’m your girl. So when we had to retake staff photos I had a fellow coworker/friend take a photo of me… dun dun dun. Awful self-loathing and shame started to wear down on me. It’s very hard when I’ve gained so much weight since moving to Texas. Please please please Whole30 be the answer I’ve been looking for. I need this so much, for so many reasons other than weight and body composition.


After Work: 

Omar made zucchini noodles, chicken, and homemade tomato sauce. I am so tired I can’t even – photos & recipe tomorrow!

I’m going to share how Omar makes his delicious slow cooked pasta (nope) sauce! He originally used to use this recipe, but has since evolved from those times.

Omar’s Delicious Slow Cooked Tomato Sauce:

  • 1lb Italian sausage
  • 1lb ground meat
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 cup of mushrooms, chopped (we use baby portobellos)
  • 3 -4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans tomato sauce
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 teaspoons basil (or more to taste)
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

In a large pot, brown beef and sausage. Add onions and cook until translucent. Add other ingredients. Bring to a boil then slow simmer for 4-6 hours! The flavors melt together and it is AMAZING! I loved this sauce with pasta (we use to make our own) but it’s just as delicious with zoodles.

For meal prep purposes the batch above doesn’t have meat in it so we could refrigerate it for longer. Just seal in an air tight container and it should be ok to eat for a few weeks. Maybe more if you didn’t use fresh vegetables & herbs.

Day 5, I’m ready for you!

 

Leave a Reply

